//
you're reading...
Lean Six Sigma Home Project

Green Home

This is my first blog.  I postponed my urge to blog, until I have something useful to share with you, my reader!

I found one. I have an  issue. My power (electricity) bills were very high. We moved to my current house few years back and I noticed we do not have any control over energy consumption.  Some quarterly bills were around $800 mark.  In my previous house, we had a quarterly bill of $300. 

So, what is the big deal?    I expect you to be interested how I manage my house hold energy consumption?

Well, I believe  you will have some interest because:

  • the issue is real: I do not have to eloborate much about Green house gas and Global warming. So reducing power consumption will reduce our carbon foot print. If I can reduce, you too can!
  • the dollar savings are real: Even if you are Global Warming sceptic,  I am sure the montly savings will be off interest to you.
  • More importantly you may be interested in the way I am going to achieve my power reduction goal. I am going to try a proven process methodolgy known as  “Lean-Six Sigma”.  The followers of  Lean-Six Sigma will vouch that these management  philosophies underpin the success of Toyota, Motorola and GE.  The critics will complain that the methods are yet another management jargon.

I am going to experiment this methodology in my home to achieve my power reduction goal. My team includes my wife and two daughters of age 16 and 12.

Do you think I will succeed? Watch this space!

About Murali Ramakrishnan

Murali is the Managing Director of the boutique consulting firm "Process-Symphony". Process-Symphony specializes in IT enabled business process orchestration. http://www.process-symphony.com.au http://www.kloudax.net.au

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

